TC Blues triumphant

Circular Head Cricket Association’s 2016-17 season premiers are TC Blues One after a massive win over Irishtown at Smithton Recreation Ground on Saturday. Picture: Ashleigh Force.

CHCA. TC Blues One has claimed Circular Head Cricket Association’s Grand Final, defeating reigning B Grade premiers Irishtown.

Following the departure of two teams into the Burnie Cricket League at the start of the season, CHCA underwent a restructuring to combine the previous three divisions into one grade of six teams.

Winning the toss, TC Blues elected to bat the first innings of the final held at Smithton Recreation Ground. 

Opening batsmen Leigh Grey (11) and Isaac Perry (20) began strongly followed by Nick Littlejohn (22) and Lachlan Blakemore (26). Blakemore and Joel Keep (16) put together a 40 run partnership followed by a series of one digit scores from the lower order.

Just shy of 40 overs, TC Blues were all out for 143.

In taking to the field, David Tuxworth (2/9) and Anthony Taylor (2/24) applied the pressure onto Irishtown. Wickets fell in quick succession with Littlejohn (1/6), Chris Reeves (1/7) and Cameron Revell (1/11) bowling superbly and followed up well by Perry with three catches in the field.

After just 28.3 overs, TC Blues had accounted for all of Irishtown’s batsmen with a mere total of just 60 runs.

Following the game, victorious coach Jarrod Williams said an improvement in bowling and holding onto catches had been a game changer for TC Blues.

“In the last few weeks we’ve struggled in the field but everyone was brilliant on Saturday,” he said.

“The game was played in good spirits, and it’s a credit to Johnny Swan and Hobie Rutter, and all the Irishtown boys, we had some great battles throughout the year.”

Fatal error: Call to undefined function related_posts() in /clientdata/apache-www/c/h/ on line 30