Tassie’s hockey goldmine

The 2013 Circular Head state hockey representatives are (back) Maddison Poke, Dylan Jago, Kira Johnston, Rhys Burgess, Connie Perry, (front) Duncan Grey, Eddie Popowski, Toby Reeve, Sam Porteus-Smith and Connor Poke [absent Keegan Popowski]. Picture: Tanya Boon.

Hockey. Circular Head hockey continues to earn its bragging rights, by again delivering double figures this year as junior state team representatives.

Matching the number of junior representatives in 2010 and 2011, and just shy of 2012’s 12, the impressive figure of 11 players illustrates the association’s dedication.

Circular Head Hockey coach Ara Popowski said the club works hard to provide training for the players, but their success can be attributed to their personal desire to do their best.

Each representative will be required to travel for training and the interstate games. So, she said, it is thanks to the players’ supportive families, community and their own dedication to get them there.

The 2013 Circular Head representatives are Keegan Popowski and Dylan Jago, who returned from New South Wales last week after competing in the Under 18 men’s nationals.

Rhys Burgess and Maddison Poke who made the U16s team and will head to Hobart for the School Sport Australia championships in August.
Burgess and Poke also made the state U15s team. Burgess will travel to Darwin to compete in the U15 matches in September along with Eddie Popowski who also made the team.

Poke will travel to Busselton in Western Australia along with Connie Perry and Kira Johnston who also made the girls U15 state team.
Sam Porteus-Smith, Duncan Grey, Connor Poke and Toby Reeve all made the boys U13 state team this year. The boys all turn 13 this year except for Reeve who turns 12 this year and currently competes in the local high School Roster.


Fatal error: Call to undefined function related_posts() in /clientdata/apache-www/c/h/chchronicle.com.au/www/Newspaper/wp-content/themes/Print-Domain/single.php on line 30