Proud as punch

Circular Head was represented at the Tidy Towns event by Kurtis Maher (second from left), Mayor Daryl Quilliam, Jodie Saville and Dianne Baldock, pictured with Keep Australia Beautiful chairman David Carter (far left) and Governor of South Australia Hieu Van Le.

By 10 months ago 0 Write a comment
Award. Our spectacular Smithton has been named the tidiest town of them all.

Each year Keep Australia Beautiful searches for the country’s tidiest town, based on more than just clean streets.

This year, representatives from Circular Head were in South Australia when the announcement was made at the 2018 Australian Tidy Towns Awards, an event hosted by last year’s winner Barmera.

Running nationally since 1990, the awards have evolved to encompass projects and initiatives with a focus on environmental sustainability and resource management to reflect a growing awareness of the importance of community-led environmental action.

They set out to recognise the hard work undertaken by individuals and groups in rural communities, and share these best practices and ideas to continue to improve our vibrant rural towns.

As well as taking out the overall gong, Smithton was a joint winner of Community Action and Wellbeing, Environmental Sustainability, and Young Legends, for which Kurtis Maher was recognised.

Smithton was also highly commended in Heritage and Culture.

In February, Australian Tidy Towns judge Gail Langley was shown around the local area and introduced to local people, projects and events, some of which included the Circular Head RSL WWI Centenary Committee, Art About Town, Devil Country Muster and more.

Of her impressions, Ms Langley said: “Smithton is a highly driven community with determination to pinpoint and address issues. The parties involved with projects are highly motivated and demonstrate a sense of dedication to each other and to achieving their set goals.”

The two-day event included a tour of Barmera that showcased some of the town’s projects which contributed to their win last year as well as highlights from Ms Langley’s judging tour and presentations from finalists.

Mayor Daryl Quilliam said hearing Smithton called out was a thrilling moment.

“It was probably the best feeling that I have had as Mayor of Circular Head in the 10 years that I have been involved, to win a national award when you consider how many towns there are across Australia and I know there were about 20 odd applicants in Tasmania alone.

“To be able to [receive this recognition], I think speaks volumes for our community. Our community and the people of Smithton should feel very proud to live in a place that has been voted the national Tidy Town [winner].”

Now Circular Head looks forward to hosting the state awards later this year followed by the national awards next year, offering new opportunities to showcase the region.


Overall winner: Smithton

Environmental Sustainability: Smithton and Orange, NSW

Highly Commended: Kalgoorlie-Boulder, WA and Kimba, SA

Heritage and Culture: Finke (Apatula), NT

Highly Commended: Smithton, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, WA and Beechworth, VIC

Community Action and Wellbeing: Smithton, and Finke (Apatula), NT

Highly Commended: Kimba, SA

Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention, Waste Management and Resource Recovery: Orange, NSW

Highly Commended: Beechworth, VIC, Kimba, SA and Finke (Apatula), NT

Young Legends: Kurtis Maher (Smithton) and Wooragee Primary School (Beechworth, VIC)

Highly Commended: Bailey Dickinson-Bubb (Orange, NSW)

Environmental Education: Kimba, SA and Beechworth, VIC

Highly Commended: Kalgoorlie-Boulder, WA

Fatal error: Call to undefined function related_posts() in /clientdata/apache-www/c/h/ on line 30