Premiership play

In Circular Head Netball Association’s Grade 3, 4, 5 Grand Final on Saturday, Emma van Norden, Laila Power, coach Janelle McGowan, Brielle Bryan, Sienna von Stieglitz, Marlea Willie, Libby Buckby and Miles Gale, of Billabong, earned the round-robin win. Pictures: Leanne Everett.

Juniors. Circular Head Netball Association’s Grand Final games were held in Smithton on Saturday in cold, wintery conditions.

The Grade 3, 4, 5 roster began proceedings in a five game round-robin format.

All players took to the courts with great enthusiasm to play competitively in what was a fantastic show of sportsmanship to end the roster.

In round one, Rusty defeated Ripcurl by three goals with great play from Xavier Thompson, Ella Lee, Mia Schuuring and Emmett Gale.

On court two, Billabong finished strong winners against Quiksilver, 12 to 5. Billabong’s Brielle Bryan and Emma van Norden displayed precise shooting while Mason Brown and Addison Grey, of Quiksilver, played a great game.

The third game between Roxy and Nike was drawn at three goals in an equal affair showcasing excellent skills from both teams. Best player accolades went to Hannah Fisher, Teiarnah Wilson, Jasmine Wells and Kirrily Ralston.

In round two, Roxy defeated Rusty, 2 to 1. Elizabeth Ettlin, Hannah Fisher, Mia Schuuring and Meadow West were awarded best players.

Billabong outscored Ripcurl by 8 to 5 with perfect play from Emma van Norden, Marlea Willie, Asha Howard and Katie Everett.

Quiksilver and Nike finished on five goals apiece as Mason Brown, Chloe Grey, Alexis Donovan and Jasmine Wells gained mentions among the best players.

In round three, Nike earned their first win over Rusty, 3 to 1. Best players were Alexis Donovan, Kirrily Ralston, Emmett Gale and Mia Schuuring.

Accurate shooting from Quiksilver resulted in a 6 to 1 goal victory over Ripcurl where Mason Brown, Addison Grey, Katie Everett and Ella Lee all performed well.

Roxy and Billabong ended the round with a competitive two-goal draw with strong performances from Hannah Fisher, Rhys Odgers, Libby Buckby and Miles Gale.

In round four Rusty recorded a win over Billabong, 3 to 2. Emmett Gale, Mia Schuuring, Miles Gale and Brielle Bryan were named in the best players while Shaelea Billett, Cooper Jackson, Katie Everett and Matilda Lockett showed off their skills in the Nike and Ripcurl game, 2 to 1.

Quiksilver finished the round with a 3 to 1 win over Roxy. Best players were awarded to Rubi Willie, Mason Brown, Elizabeth Ettlin and Hannah Fisher.

The last games of the round-robin saw Rusty, Ripcurl and Billabong take wins over Quiksilver 5 to 4, Roxy 2 to 1 and Nike 9 to 5 respectively with all players ending the roster in great sportsmanship after an exhausting two hours of netball.

There were a few minutes of suspense as the scores were tallied and counted back to determine an overall Grand Final winner, with the honours being awarded to team Billabong.

Players of the Match went to Miles Gale (Billabong), Mason Brown (Quiksilver), Katie Everett (Ripcurl), Hannah Fisher (Roxy), Kirrily Ralston and Alexis Donovan (Nike), and Mia Schuuring and Emmett Gale (Rusty).

In the Grade 6, 7, 8 Grand Final, Quiksilver claimed the title in a strong game against Rusty, 27 to 13.

Both teams displayed smart, competitive netball in challenging conditions.

Best player accolades were awarded to Taya Schuuring, Sophie Coates, Ella Sharman, Chloe Birtwistle, Ava Gale and Sophie Lee.

Players of the Match were awarded to Quiksilver’s Chloe Birtwistle and Rusty’s Taya Schuuring.

Fatal error: Call to undefined function related_posts() in /clientdata/apache-www/c/h/ on line 30