Night of nights

Irishtown Football Club Canary Christian Mulder received the Circular Head Football Association Best and Fairest honour at the annual awards dinner in Stanley on Saturday. Picture: Leanne Everett.

Achievements. Circular Head Football Association held its annual awards at the Stanley Town Hall on Saturday where president Stuart Gale announced his retirement.

Having held the presidency for three years, and a role as treasurer prior to that, Gale says he is no longer able to commit as much time to the role as required.

“I also think it is a good idea to keep new blood coming through,” he says.

“Someone else is always going to have a slightly different take on how things are run [and] I’ve always thought it’s good to keep it fresh.”

Hailing from Redpa Football Club, Gale has held leadership roles at the club in the past including president for three years.

His term will officially end in December when CHFA hosts its annual general meeting and a new president is elected. The stalwart says he will remain involved in footy in some capacity.

During official proceedings, Christian Mulder of Irishtown, was awarded the Best and Fairest honour with 12 votes, followed closely by Josh Smith of Scotchtown with 11 votes.

In Reserves, Canary Gary Randall took the top honour while teammate Peter Nutting earned the runner-up title. Following an undefeated season, Toby Reeve and Matthew Best, of Redpa, were the recipients of the Under 16 Best and Fairest and Runner-Up honours respectively.

Securing 47 majors throughout the season, Canary Sean Ryan earned the Goal Kickers Award in the Seniors while Jamie Horton, also of Irishtown, booted 31 for the title in Reserves.

Reeve polished off an impressive season to earn the Under 16s Goal Kickers Award for 44 majors as well as the Media Award. Forest Stanley coach Mark Kearnes claimed the Seniors Media Award while Nutting gained the Reserves spot.

Under 13 Rising Star Awards were also presented to Malachi Sheehan, of Redpa, Hunter Stokes, of Scotchtown, Jaxon Swan, of Irishtown, and Bronsen Sutton-Collins, of Forest Stanley.