Dual names

Icons. Dual naming of local areas has taken place in a bid by the Tasmanian government to preserve Aboriginal heritage.

Premier and Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Will Hodgman announced last week that dual names have been assigned to seven geographic icons in the state, four of which are in Circular Head.

The dual names are as follows and will be depicted as shown:

• wukalina/Mount William;

• yingina/Great Lake;

• titima/Trefoil Island;

• laraturunawn/Sundown Point;

• nungu/West Point;

• taypalaka/Green Point; and

• pinmatik/Rocky Cape.

Mr Hodgman said it played “an important step in the ongoing recognition and preservation of our Aboriginal heritage and culture”.

This is the second round of dual names approved by the Nomenclature Board of Tasmania since 2014 under the government’s Aboriginal and Dual Names Policy, bringing the total to 13.

Mr Hodgman said the names are applied in the reconstructed palawa kani language following extensive research by the Aboriginal community language revival program.

Mr Hodgman said the chosen names were proposed by formal submission by the Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre following consultation with the Tasmanian Aboriginal community, landowners and local governments.

“The Tasmanian government is committed to re-setting our relationship with the Aboriginal community,” he said.


Fatal error: Call to undefined function related_posts() in /clientdata/apache-www/c/h/chchronicle.com.au/www/Newspaper/wp-content/themes/Print-Domain/single.php on line 30