Dash for first place

Ulverstone’s Douglas Hamerlok set Duck Dash history on Saturday, winning 10 years in a row. The feat coincides with the 10th year the local fun run has been held. Picture: Ashleigh Force.

Feat. The Twilight on the Duck’s annual Duck Dash featured a new record on Saturday.
Ulverstone runner Douglas Hamerlok took out the title for the 10th year running, coinciding with a decade of running the local fun run event.
Hamerlok set the pace on the day, remaining in the lead throughout the 6.8 kilometre circuit.
Pounding the pavement along the East Esplanade boardwalk, Hamerlok finished ahead of fellow out-of-towners Aaron Harvey and Ben St John in third place.
“Out of all the races in Tasmania, this is the one I am consistently coming to,” says Hamerlok, drawn to the encouraging atmosphere and the festival that follows.
“It’s a nice day out on Australia Day . . . we make a day of it.”
Averaging three minutes per kilometre, Hamerlok used the Duck Dash as a training run for next month’s Run the Bridge event in Hobart.
While the winning streak wasn’t a goal for Hamerlok, he says he decided to go for gold after learning of his ninth consecutive win last year.
“I focus on a year at a time. There have actually been years that I have been injured but I’ve still come down and run through injury,” he says.
“It’s about the participation for me, supporting a local event.”
In other Duck Dash news, local Jacob Furphy took out first place in the boys division ahead of Ryley Haywood and Will van Rooyen. In the girls division, Zeritu Heres placed first with Lucy van Rooyen in second and Ashlynn Moles in third.
Lyn St John won the women’s division, followed by former local Charli Kay and Mollie Powell.
The Jude King Encouragement Award was presented to local youngster Eliza Young while Aaron Robertson earned the First Local Home medal.


Fatal error: Call to undefined function related_posts() in /clientdata/apache-www/c/h/chchronicle.com.au/www/Newspaper/wp-content/themes/Print-Domain/single.php on line 30